BEING A VOLUNTEER – Maddy (Australia)

Standard

With less than 2 weeks before we reach the end of our Spring volunteer season, I can’t help but feel sad that my time here is almost over.

When I arrived at Our Chalet at the end of February I could not have comprehended how amazing my time here would be, how close I would become to my fellow volunteers and how much I would learn and experience.

_DSC0080~2

I have loved the opportunity to explore Switzerland whilst working here. I have visited Interlaken, Spiez, Bern, Thun, Blausee, Kandersteg, Zurich and explored the local area, all of which are breathtaking. It is such a rare opportunity to live somewhere so beautiful.

PicMonkey Collage

Whilst I have been here I have had the opportunity to work in a very diverse staff with people from many different parts of the world. I have also been able to work with groups of guests from very different countries. In both cases, it has been eye opening to see the differences and similarities between our cultures, allowing me to better understand the world around me. Its amazing how much this experience has connected me to others I would otherwise have never had the pleasure of meeting and learning from..KK-ÄÖJKL-KL

The most important thing I feel I have gained whilst working at the Chalet is my friendships with my fellow volunteers and the other staff. The saying “the people make the experience” is something I have found to be very true and boy have they made it a brilliant experience.

Working at the Chalet, whilst with its ups and downs, has been one of the most fun-filled, challenging and rewarding experiences I have had the fortune of having. I will always look back on this adventure and be so glad I did it.

_DSC0606

Leave a Reply

