STAFF: Anna (FL) Our Chalet löpinät

Standard

Two months at Our Chalet are soon gone. It feels more like two weeks, time has flown so quickly. Every day has been memorable and every day I have learnt something new.

Engstligen hike Anna and Mary

Now I know that British people really do drink lots of tea, Costa Rican people are the most happy people in the world. But different cultures are not the only thing which I have learnt. I have learnt much about Switzerland, other cultures, the English language, other people and myself.

I never want to forget my experiences here and I don’t think that it’s possible to forget. This has been such an amazing exeperience that I have special place for it in my mind and also on my head where I now have funny hairless spot thanks to an accident with a cupboard. 🙂 I didn’t know what to expect before I arrived here. New friends, lots of snow activities, cooking together, learning about different cultures were on my list, that was about all. My time here has given me much more. I couldn’t even begin to list all things which I have experienced here.
And now I really know, that Scouting is an international movement. Even though we have different forms doing things, we still have many of them which are the same and which we all share together.

I have enjoyed meeting guests from all around the world and spending time with many different people. The world is now much smaller for me and borders don’t mean that much anymore. I just have to remember, that outside of Finland people’s personal space is much bigger than in Finland 🙂

I hope that some day I can come back and still get into the “Chalet feeling”. It is something, that you can not describe with words. You have to experience it for yourself.
I’m sure that everyone, who has been here knows what I’m talking about, and if you don’t know, you have to come here and find!
Anna Haavikko (FI)
Winter Volunteer 2011-2012

Leave a Reply

