It’s snow time! Ony and Michelle

Standard

Greetings lovely readers!

Hi my name is Ony and I am from Madagascar, a country which is shapped like a left foot!

I am currently studying Anthropoloy at University, coming to Our Chalet has provided a lovely break from my studies. 

Ony

Guiding is a big part of my life and has provided me with so many amazing opportunities. Now I am going to tell you about one these amazing opportunities: playing in the snow for the first time!!! I am the first Volunteer to come from Madagascar and this makes me proud – its also my first time in Europe so I’m going to make the most of it 🙂  I have been a Girl Scout since I was 9 years old and am currently on the national board of the youth committee. I have attended conferences for the Africa Region and been to a Juliette Lowe Seminar. When I was at the seminar I was lucky to see Lord Baden Powells grave with the other participants: an amazing experience.

I never expected that it would snow in October, but…..it did!!!:) For two days long, it didn’t stop snowing on the top of the hill of Adelboden, it was so fun and I’ve enjoyed it very much (even though its really cold…… it actually felt like I was in a Fridge!!)

But I don’t mind!!!! I’ve seen snow for a real and I’m just happy! The view was Amazing with everything in pure and clear WHITE, I don’t know why but it seems to me like in a dream, where everything is quiet and calm !!!

Peace for my soul …it’s what I’ve found during those two days and it will be one of the things that I will never ever forget !!

I’m really lucky that there is snow here at this time of the year!

Snow_OurChalet Snowman Airboarding

Hi my name is Michelle and I am from Australia. I am loud and bubbly and love having fun with the other Autumn vollies: especially when we are singing in the kitchen “Every day I’m shuffling.’ I love to laugh and spend most of my time giggling… its good for you: Honest. I have been in guiding since I was 6 years old and now I am a leader. I have competed my Queens Guide! I am currently working on my Gold Duke of Edinburgh after completing my Silver.

I love to travel and after my time at Our Chalet I am going to travel around Europe and see the sights! I am so excited especailly as I am going with 2 other volunteers: Juliette (Canada) and Rhianna (USA). Its going to be so much fun I cannot wait, just need to make sure my bag does not weigh too much….

Michelle

Let me tell you about something very special that happened to me during the week… On the 7th of October I saw my first snow! I was so excited, I woke up at 7am to go to breakfast and started screaming with delight, the other staff in the staff house weren’t so excited to be woken by my screams at 7 o’clock in the morning. I ran outside and immediately panicked when I realised I had to shovel the snow off the path to the kitchen, I didn’t even know what the shovel looked like.

Two of the other volunteers, Julie, from Denmark, and Juliette, from Canada, and I went chasing the snow. We hiked to the Elsigen gondola and on the top of Elsigen, stepped out into 20cm of snow. The first thing I did was get attacked by snow balls, I quickly learnt that my aim wasn’t as good as I thought it was. We hiked up a snow covered mountain and I slipped so many times, much to the girl’s amusement. Juliette taught me how to sledge headfirst on my back down the snow covered hill, and although I was absolutely petrified it was a lot of fun! We then sat in the snow and drank our hot chocolate and had some cakes I had made the day before. My favourite thing to do now is to eat snow, so almost every picture we took I have snow in my mouth. I was warned to keep away from the yellow snow!

The next day the Chalet had 20cm of snow! I was so excited I worked really fast to finish all my jobs so I could play in the snow. Catt, the Guest Service Volunteer, and Claire, the Kitchen Coordinator, and two of the other volunteers pumped up the airboards while I psyched myself up for the ride. We then airboarded down Baby Chalet hill. It was so much fun and was faster than I thought it would be, and of course the worst bit was trudging back up the hill again. I airboarded so many times and often got snowballed by the staff on my walk up. We then all sat together and sledged down the hill, the four of us. It was so funny because we had to really hold on to each others legs so we didn’t lose anyone on the hill.

We were walking back to the Chalet when we realised Sally, the World Centre Manager, was missing out on all the fun! So Juliette, from Canada, and Maria, from Slovakia, and I all decided that we needed to make a stand in for Sally. We built a snow-woman with a Chalet staff t-shirt and a red staff necker next to the flagpole so Sally wouldn’t be missing out on the snow!

Hope to see some of you blog readers soon!

Leave a Reply

